sign in
email
Password

» Join the book club

» Forgotten password


 

>> LATEST TITLES


Robin Hood: Hacking, Heists & Flaming Arrows

Robin Hood: Hacking, Heists & Flaming Arrows
Robert Muchamore

Publisher: Hot Key Books


What is this about?
You can't go far without a quick brain and some rule-bending in a place like Locksley. After its vast car plants shut down, the prosperous town has become a wasteland of empty homes, toxic land and families on the brink. And it doesn't help that the authorities are in the clutches of profit-obsessed Sheriff of Nottingham, in cahoots with underworld boss Guy Gisborne.

When his dad is framed for a robbery, Robin and his brother Little John are hounded out of Locksley and must learn to survive in the Sherwood forest, stretching three hundred kilometres and sheltering the free spirits and outlaws. But Robin is determined to do more than survive. Small, fast and deadly with a bow, he hatches a plan to join forces with Marion Maid, harness his inimitable tech skills and strike a blow against Gisborne and the Sheriff. news image

Download an extract

Unstoppable

Unstoppable
Dan Freedman

Publisher: David Fickling Books


What is this about?
Fourteen-year-old twins, Roxy and Kaine, have only one thing in common. They HATE each other. Kaine is loud, brash and brilliant at football. Roxy is heading for tennis superstardom. When tragedy strikes, their worlds are ripped apart. Can they come together before it's too late? news image

Download an extract

Devil, Darling, Spy

Devil, Darling, Spy
Matt Killeen

Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd


What is this about?
The deadliest weapon is a girl with nothing to lose... Sarah is used to spying in the champagne-fuelled parties of Nazi Berlin. But her new mission is infinitely more deadly - tracking a lethal disease across bullet-torn Africa, to uncover the monster who would use it to create fifty million corpses. Her enemies think she is a terrified little girl. But she is a warrior set to burn them all... news image

Download an extract

And the Stars Were Burning Brightly

And the Stars Were Burning Brightly
Danielle Jawando

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books


What is this about?
When fifteen-year-old Nathan discovers that his older brother Al, has taken his own life, his whole world is torn apart.

Al was special.

Al was talented.

Al had so many dreams ... so why did he do it?

Convinced that his brother was in trouble, Nathan decides to retrace Al’s footsteps. As he does, he meets Megan, Al's former classmate, who is as determined as Nathan to keep Al's memory alive.

Together they start seeking answers, but will either of them be able to handle the truth about Al’s death when they eventually discover what happened?

An extraordinary novel about loss, understanding and the importance of speaking up when all you want to do is shut down, from an incredible new talent, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Gayle Foreman, Jennifer Niven and Nikesh Shukla.

#BurnBright

Warning - this novel contains themes that some readers may find upsetting, including suicide and intense bullying. news image

Download an extract

Cloudburst: A Jack Courtney Adventure

Cloudburst: A Jack Courtney Adventure
Wilbur Smith

Publisher: Piccadilly Press


What is this about?
Jack Courtney has lived in the UK his whole life. But this summer his parents are travelling to the Democratic Republic of the Congo for a gorilla conference, and they've promised to take Jack and his friends with them.

When his parents go missing in the rainforest, abducted by mercenaries, nobody seems to have any answers. Jack is pretty sure that it's got something to do with the nearby tantalum mines, but he needs to prove it. Along with Amelia and Xander, Jack must brave the jungle to save his parents. Standing in his way is a member of his own family - Caleb Courtney.

There are western gorillas, forest elephants and hippos. But there are also bandits, mercenaries and poachers. The three friends will need their wits about them if they are not only to save Jack's parents, but their own lives too. news image

Download an extract

Orla and the Serpent's Curse

Orla and the Serpent's Curse
C. J. Haslam

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd


What is this about?
Orla thought she was in for a relaxing family holiday, but when she finds a mysterious glowing necklace in the woods, it turns out there is a slight possibility she may have uncovered an ancient curse. After meeting a coven of old ladies, it becomes clear that Orla's arrival in Poldevel is no longer a coincidence. She's the only one who can solve this mystery, and she'll need help from the only other member of the family with good instincts - Dave the dog. news image

Download an extract

Wink

Wink
Rob Harrell

Publisher: Hot Key Books


What is this about?
Ross Molloy just wants to be normal. He doesn't want to lose his hair, or wear a weird hat, or deal with the disappearing friends who don't know what to say to 'the cancer kid'. But with his recent diagnosis of a rare eye cancer, simply blending in is no longer an option. Ross - and his friends and his family - all need to work out how to deal with this devastating challenge that Life has thrown down. Maybe Batpig can come to the rescue?

The novel is based on Rob Harrell's own real life experience of eye cancer and is an unforgettable and uplifting story. news image

Download an extract

Run, Rebel

Run, Rebel
Manjeet Mann

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd


What is this about?
I am restless, my feet need to fly.

Amber is trapped - by her father's rules, by his expectations, by her own fears.

Now she's ready to fight - for her mother, for her sister, for herself.

Freedom always comes at a price.

Run, Rebel is a trailblazing verse novel that thunders with rhythm, heart and soul - perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Elizabeth Acevedo and Rupi Kaur. news image

Download an extract

One Of Us Is Next

One Of Us Is Next
Karen McManus

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd


What is this about?
The sequel to the international bestseller One of Us is Lying

Welcome back to Bayview High . . .

It's been a year since the events of One Of Us Is Lying.

But nothing has settled for the residents of Bayview. Not now someone has started playing a sinister game of Truth or Dare.

Choose truth? You must reveal your darkest secret.
Choose dare? Well, that could be even more dangerous. Even deadly.

When the game takes an even darker turn, suddenly no one at Bayview High knows who to trust.

But they need to find out who is behind the game, before it's too late. news image

Download an extract

DustRoad

DustRoad
Tom Huddleston

Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd


What is this about?
The sequel to FloodWorld, this equally cinematic book tells the story of Kara and Joe's adventures in the US, as they travel with a band of ideological outlaws, hell-bent on destroying the Mariners and stealing their world.

Can Kara and Joe come up with a plan to stop the seemingly inevitable destruction? news image

Download an extract

Wranglestone

Wranglestone
Darren Charlton

Publisher: Stripes Publishing


What is this about?
In a post-apocalyptic America, a community survives in a national park, surrounded by water that keeps the Dead at bay. But when winter comes, there's nothing to stop them from crossing the ice.

Then homebody Peter puts the camp in danger by naively allowing a stranger to come ashore and he's forced to leave the community of Wranglestone. Now he must help rancher Cooper, the boy he's always watched from afar, herd the Dead from their shores before the lake freezes over.

But as love blossoms, a dark discovery reveals the sanctuary's secret past. One that forces the pair to question everything they've ever known. news image

Download an extract

Evernight

Evernight
Ross MacKenzie

Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd


What is this about?
Thousands of years ago, the Evernight came to the Silver Kingdom and turned everything to darkness and chaos. It was only defeated thanks to the skill and bravery of the Witches. But now the Evernight is about to return, released by the evil Mrs Hester, and the only spell that might stop it is lost, deep below the great city of King s Haven.

Then orphan Larabelle Fox stumbles across a mysterious wooden box while treasure-hunting in the city s sewers. Little does she realise she is about to be catapulted into an adventure, facing wild magic and mortal danger and a man who casts no shadow . . . news image

Download an extract

Nothing Ever Happens Here

Nothing Ever Happens Here
Sarah Hagger-Holt

Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd


What is this about?
This is Littlehaven. Nothing ever happens here. Until the spotlight hits my family.

Izzy's family is under the spotlight when her dad comes out as Danielle, a trans woman. Izzy is terrified her family will be torn apart. Will she lose her dad? Will her parents break up? And what will people at school say? Izzy's always been shy, but now all eyes are on her. Can she face her fears, find her voice and stand up for what's right? news image

Download an extract

Where The World Turns Wild

Where The World Turns Wild
Nicola Penfold

Publisher: Stripes Publishing


What is this about?
Animals, trees, flowers, our city forbids them all... Juniper Greene lives in a walled city from which nature has been banished, following the outbreak of a deadly man-made disease many years earlier. While most people seem content to live in such a cage, she and her little brother Bear have always known about their resistance to the disease, and dream of escaping into the wild. To the one place humans have survived outside of cities. To where their mother is.

When scientists discover that the siblings provide the key to fighting the disease, the pair must flee for their lives. As they journey into the unknown, they soon learn that there's cruelty in nature as well as beauty. Will they ever find the home they re searching for?

A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure. news image

Download an extract

The House of One Hundred Clocks

The House of One Hundred Clocks
A.M. Howell

Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd


What is this about?
Helena and her parrot, Orbit, are swept off to Cambridge when her father is appointed clock-winder to one of the wealthiest men in England. There is only one rule: the clocks must never stop.

But Helena discovers the house of one hundred clocks holds many mysteries; a ghostly figure, strange notes and disappearing winding keys Can she work out its secrets before time runs out?
news image

Download an extract

 
ReadingZone

Zone Menu Young Adult SchoolZone FamilyZone Library zone Readingzone
ReadingZone Book Shop
Book of the week book cover

A Throne of Swans:
Katharine Corr

More
Your reviews Tom Mitchell

THAT TIME I GOT KIDNAPPED by TOM MITCHELL is a fabulous road trip chase - look out for singing...

More
Your reviews

Slay, I got the book last Christmas and had finished it in just under two months, I know that's a long...

More