sign in

» Join the book club

» Forgotten password


>> Waterstone's Children's Book Prize winner

Waterstone's Children's Book Prize winner

Waterstone's Children's Book Prize winner

The winner of the 2018 Waterstone's Children's Book Prize has been announced with Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give (Walker Books) winning the Older Fiction and Overall Winner awards.

The Younger Fiction winner is the spellbinding Nevermoor, Jessica Townsend's tale of a courageous young girl who must overcome a terrible magical curse.

The Illustrated Book winner is The Secret of Black Rock by Joe Todd-Stanton, where a strange, sea-born mystery reveals a moving message of care for our planet.

Waterstones said of the winning book: "A truly ground-breaking work of fiction, destined to become a future classic, The Hate U Give is a gripping, fierce and unflinching novel of one girl's struggle for justice.

"Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, the story belongs to 16-year-old Starr, a young girl split between two worlds who finds herself the witness to a fatal tragedy. Powerful and unforgettable, her story exposes divisions of class, racial inequality and the misuse of power, opening up a fault line that lies at the very heart of modern America."

Waterstones MD James Daunt added, "The Hate U Give should have a readership far beyond a core audience of young adults. Ours is a children's prize, but there is no upper age limit to being stunned by beautiful writing of this visceral power."

Download PDF


Zone Menu Young Adult SchoolZone FamilyZone Library zone Readingzone
ReadingZone Book Shop
Book of the week book cover

The Valentines: Happy Girl Lucky:
Holly Smale

Your reviews Samira Ahmed

What would you do if you and your family were suddenly imprisoned in a 'resettlement camp', locked...

Your reviews

The Shield of Lies, This book follows Crystal Run which I loved. I loved this book because there is always a mystery...